Modify

Ticket #450 (closed task: fixed)

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

Cannot change author of video item

Reported by: and Owned by:
Priority: major Milestone: 3.1.1
Component: PlumiVideoProduct Severity:
Keywords: Cc:
Who will test this: Grant

Description

Previously there was an option to change who appeared as producing the video, eg. by Andrew.

That option doesn't seem to be available anymore. One can still change the roles by going to manage_listLocalRoles

Is there a similar thing for changing the author or does this need to be coded back in?

This is a problem for us as often we upload other people's videos for them.

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by dimo

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to ready for testing

you can now change the author of a video item by going to VIDEO_URL/edit?fieldset=ownership

Change the first line of the creators field and click next. That should do it

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by and

Cool. Is there any way this could be a link or a tab? It will make it a lot easier for people to admin content.

comment:3 Changed 4 years ago by and

Also is there anyway the same could easily be done for changing ownership? They are common admin tasks and links would streamline the process significantly.

comment:4 Changed 4 years ago by and

  • Who will test this changed from And to Grant

comment:5 Changed 3 years ago by grant

  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Resolution ready for testing deleted

I went to test this and found the following:

1) It did change the owner BUT it didn't change the directory structure, eg:

 http://testing.plumi.org/Members/grant/videos/replacing-the-deleted-video/view

It's under my directory but the owner is tester. If we change the owner, shouldn't it move to that owner's folder?

2) After doing the edit using the edit?fieldset=ownership I wound up at this page:

 http://testing.plumi.org/Members/grant/videos/replacing-the-deleted-video/atct_edit

I then clicked "Next" and it crashed. Should it wind up back at the edit screen after changing the owner or should it end up at the View screen?

3) Manually adding "edit?fieldset=ownership" to the end of the URL is a major kludge way of doing this. If it's just a couple of EM's staff doing the changes, they can be trained so this may not be such a big deal, but if we're allowing others to do it, it's not an elegant/easy solution.

And: Is having to manually edit the URL a deal stopper on this one?

comment:6 Changed 3 years ago by and

Hey Grant, 1) It shouldn't move the video, that's a seperate process. 2) I think the functionality won't really get used so much if there is no button, and I imagine that is fairly easy to add, Dimo, Mike?

comment:7 Changed 3 years ago by and

Oh, also, better to just do it once I think that have to come back and ticket it again.

comment:8 Changed 3 years ago by grant

OK - so that leaves us with:

1) Button to launch the URL

2) After doing the edit using the edit?fieldset=ownership I wound up at this page:

 http://testing.plumi.org/Members/grant/videos/replacing-the-deleted-video/atct_edit

I then clicked "Next" and it crashed. Should it wind up back at the edit screen after changing the owner or should it end up at the View screen?

comment:9 Changed 3 years ago by and

Hey, not a button - just a link :)

comment:10 Changed 3 years ago by dimo

  • Status changed from reopened to closed
  • Resolution set to ready for testing

now all videos have an "ownership" tab

comment:11 Changed 3 years ago by grant

  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Resolution ready for testing deleted

And it works great on staging.engagemedia.org - thanks :)

comment:12 Changed 3 years ago by grant

  • Status changed from reopened to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed

Tested and accepted - work complete.

comment:13 Changed 3 years ago by and

Hey, this is closed already but I just had a look and it's really nice - really easy to use. Thanks!

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.